A Way With Words

January 14, 2016


 

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Everyday I wear the same necklace around my neck, I can’t seem to leave the house without it. It’s engraved “fearless” and serves as a reminder to truly be fearless – to be intrepid and bold with your life, taking chances and risks to get where you wanna end up. I believe if you wanna embody being fearless, to have a life you are honestly happy with – you need to own what you feel and what you think. Be audacious. Let your voice be heard. As a society we are brought up to believe that our words are beyond powerful enough to hurt someone, but I know they also powerful enough to influence others.

“Words are in my not so humble opinion, our most inexhaustible source of magic, capable of both inflicting injury and remedying it.”

I genuinely feel that words have the power to change situations, people, even the world. When I’m reading and I come across something that just connects, something that I completely relate to, or even something that just sounds downright beautiful; for a moment I’m rest assured. For a moment I’m not so alone in my thoughts. Its the most humanizing and normalizing feeling I’ve yet to come across.

78fb27aadb7e5c6864954166d0ecfe8a

For me I can’t get enough of that feeling. I’m constantly reading books (my Kindle is more or less my best friend) or quotes on Pinterest; its become a hobby of mine to create this amazing board of quotes on there. It’s no secret that reading those books and quotes have gotten me through some of the best and worst days in my life. I’ve just become so inspired by the things I’ve read, which is why I love to write so much and also why I started blogging.

“We write to taste life twice, in the moment, and in retrospect.”

Having a blog of my own has allowed me to have an outlet to let out and let go of things that stay on my mind and remember sweet moments of my life, like taking digital pictures with words as the frame. Writing is, after all, as close as we get to reliving our dearest memories. Our childhood, our certainties, our dreams, and our loves all come to life through paper. To me, writing is seeing things, paying attention to the small details that become the big details in a story. I feel incredibly empowered when I write. Like all the things I hold inside can flow freely, and even become art or advice, a feeling I would recommend to anyone. Writing has easily become a part of my life. What started as stress relief or a spare time filler has become a passion of mine. Starting Tuesday, January 19th of my spring semester at MSU, I will be introduced to my new major, Mass Communication, and will really dive into all sorts of writing. To say I’m excited is an understatement. My goal in the future is to become a more developed writer and find my niche within journalism and mass communication. My wish is to someday change the world with my words; or maybe just someone’s world. I believe I would be happy with that.

9dc371b0cbb2e9c58c4c31ae18f4f000

As always,

Ara

Leave a Reply

